Grants and Awards > European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry


The 2019 European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry, sponsored by the Agilent Technologies with an amount of 6,000 EUR.

The prize, which promotes analytical plasma spectrochemical developments and applications in Europe, will be presented at the European Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry in Pau, France on February 3, 2019.

The European Award for Plasma Spectrochemistry is awarded for a single outstanding piece of work or for continued important contributions in the field. The previous laureates include: Detlef Guenther (2003), Jean-Michel Mermet (2005), Klaus Heumann (2007), Annemie Bogaerts (2009), Frank Vanhaeke and Alfredo Sanz-Medel (jointly in 2011), Norbert Jakubowski (2013), Jörg Feldmann (2015) and Joanna Szpunar (2017).


  • The corresponding work should usually have been carried out after completion of the PhD thesis.
  • Applications can be made by any scientist who is either a European national or a person of any other nationality has carried out the corresponding work in a European laboratory (or university). Candidates can also be nominated by international scientists working in the field of plasma spectrochemistry.
  • Persons directly affiliated to companies involved with the development of analytical instruments will not be considered.
  • Applications or nominations must clearly describe whether the candidate applies for a single topic or for continuous contributions to plasma spectrochemistry.

- In the first case, the special topic must be a new development which has no direct similarities or analogies to existing techniques or applications in plasma spectrochemistry.

- In case of continuous contributions, a publication list of the last five years and up to five representative publications must be submitted.

The application/nomination documents should include the following:

  • a one-page presentation letter summarizing the contributions and achievements of the applicant/nominee in support of his/her application/nomination for the Award,
  • a one-page curriculum vitae of the applicant/nominee,
  • copies of the publications relevant to the application/nomination as well as a publication list of the applicant/nominee
  • support letters from third parties, if available.

The nominations should be submitted before September 15, 2018.

Online user: 1 RSS Feed